Windy City Pole Vault Summit 2017

Rolling Meadows, IL

Meet Information

Saturday March 4, 2017
Location: Rolling Meadows H.S. 2901 Central Rd. Rolling Meadows, IL
Vaulting begins at 4pm

This years Windy City Pole Vault Summit will have a different look than past years. There will only be one returning State Champion from the three classes jumping. It will only have one vaulter ranked amongst the top 25 in the national rankings for pole vault. However, the Summit will most certainly have several hungry up can coming vaulters, who are looking to establish themselves as All-State contenders. In its 16th year, the Windy City Pole Vault Summit will have many of the same great aspects that have brought in most of the states top vaulters year after year. The DJ will keep the energy up, Jim Voyles will keep the crowd and vaulters informed and motivated as the events MC. And just like every year, the goal of the Windy City Pole Vault Summit is to give those elite level vaulters an opportunity to jump high - chasing PRs and to have an amazing experience.

On the ladys side it would seem that junior, Lauren Seaver (Normal University) is looking to put herself on a path as a medal contender with some big jumps out in Reno this winter. She should be pushed by Alyssa Morello (Lake Zurich), Stephanie Jacobs (Freeburg), and Lila Wine (OPRF) who have jumped 1010 or higher this indoor season. The great thing about pole vault is you never know when someone is going to be on - when they are, you can see some big jumps out of nowhere!

The guys pit should be the site of a very tight competition, if Zachery Bradford has a bad day. Bradford (Bloomington H.S.) right now is the top vaulter in Illinois. He has jumped 164 this winter out in Reno at the Pole Vault Summit. The other vaulters will have to have some pretty big jumps to get close to Bradford. That group will be led by Lucas Weaver (Providence Catholic), Colton Weber (St. Charles East), and Sam Peschke (Crystal Lake South) - all who have jumped 146 or higher in 2017!

Past winners & their jumps:
2002 Dave Viken Rolling Meadows 14-0
2003 Dave Viken Rolling Meadows 15-9
2004 Josh Grys Pekin 14-6
2005 Garrett Seager Northrup H.S. ~ Fort Wayne, IN 14-9
2006 Jake Winder Plainfield Central 16-7
2007 Mick Viken Rolling Meadows 15-3
2008 Mick Viken Rolling Meadows 16-6
2009 Mick Viken Rolling Meadows 16-7.5
2010 Cody Klein Sparta 16-6
2011 Eric Gordon Normal Comm. West 14-9
2012 Eric Gordon Normal Comm. West 15-6
2013 Tim Erhardt Lake Park 15-7
2014 Luke Winder Plainfield Central 17-2.5 **
2015 Andy Jatis Providence Catholic 16-3
2016 Luke Nelson Oak Park River Forest 15-0

2002 Not Contested
2003 Megan Rossi Downers Grove South 10'6"
2004 Jamie Watanabe Palatine 10'9"
2005 Taylor Troemel Normal 12'3"
2006 Melissa Gergel Marian Catholic 13'0"
2007 Melissa Gergel Marian Catholic 12'0"
2008 Sarah Ross H.D. Jacobs 11'3"
2009 Caley Faulkner Naperville Central 11'6"
2010 Anna Etherington Barrington 11'9"
2011 Emily Grove Pontiac 12'9.5
2012 Sarah Bell Bloomington Central Catholic 12'3"
2013 Carley Schmidt Lake Forrest 12'9"
2014 Morgan Zacharias Reed Custer 12'6"
2015 Brooke Catherine Normal Comm. 13'1" **
2016 Kassadee Ifft Prairie Central 12'6"