Salute To 2017-18 IHSA All-State Academic Team

Some of the state's top cross country and track & field stars congregated for honors presentation Monday evening in Bloomington (Rachel Hickey photo)

"This group is the best of the best," said IHSA Assistant Executive Director Stacey Lambert. "They embody the IHSA's mission, excelling in the classroom, in addition to the multiple sports and activities that they participate in. It really is an accomplishment just to be nominated for this award, and I hope the schools and communities that had winners are as proud of this accomplishment as we are to have these young people represent the IHSA."

Every IHSA member school was invited to nominate one female student and one male student to be a part of the prestigious team. Nominees needed to possess a minimum 3.50 grade point average on a 4.0 scale after their 7th semester, have participated in at least two IHSA sponsored activities during each of the last two years of high school and demonstrated outstanding citizenship.

The nominations were evaluated by a committee made up of IHSA principals, athletic directors and activities directors. One male winner and one female winner from each of the seven IHSA Board of Directors Divisions were selected initially, while the final 12 spots on the team were then rounded out with at-large candidates from anywhere in the state.

The IHSA received over 400 nominations for the 2017-18 team. Below is the track & field/cross country team:
Grayson Armour (Carlinville)
Alex Beesley (Effingham St. Anthony)
Cara Buckley (Williamsville)
Jordyn Bunning (Vernon Hills)
Rose Carroll (Chicago Agricultural Science)
Alex Harvey (Rochelle)
Rachel Hickey (Lasalle-Peru)
Danny Kilrea (LaGrange (Lyons) 
Grace McLaughlin (Rockford Boylan Catholic)
Melissa Manetsch (Libertyville)
Michael Obroin (Chicago St. Ignatius College Prep)
Charles Parrish (Freeburg)
Lindsey Payne (Glen Ellyn Glenbard West)
Addie Pulley (Rock Island Alleman)
Arielle Summitt (Urbana University)
Edwin Suresh (Schaumburg)
Alex Tam (Libertyville)
Eli Ten Eyck (Pittsfield)
Franny Verville (Dunlap)