Pre-Season Boys Indoor Preview: Attacking The Lap, Boys 200m

Jayon Morrow's aim is to become the best 200m dasher this winter season



No returner comes back with an indoor performance sub 22 seconds in this event. The one-lapper field statewide possesses some depth, this could be a season where we see a bunch of athletes dip below 23 seconds, and another few who may crack the 22-second barrier.

Jackson Gilbert (SR., Urbana) only ran this event twice and became an instant threat amongst those on the leaderboard. Gilbert has several outdoor sub 22- seconds performances on his resume, and the future Fighting Illini will look to send a message to the rest of the state.

Daniel Lacy  (SR., Champaign Centennial) began his season with a bang out in Ohio at the Speed Capital Invitational. That meet was back in December when he was barely thawed out. Since he has competed in some off-events to stay sharp as he enters his final indoor season. Lacy could lay the groundwork now for a memorable outdoor season in 3A. 

Who? Yes, that is the reaction many gave once Braydon Waller (SR., Chicago Heights Marian Catholic) finished a race this preseason. As we mentioned, how can a guy who was an all-stater be unknown? The quiet senior will be a marked athlete in the sprint events. His only IHSA meet indoor was one where he competed in the shot put. 

Deangelo Hughey (JR., Mahomet- Seymour) earned his way onto this list. The work he put in during the preseason must've paid off. Hughey, a relatively unknown athlete, has surpassed his previous season's performances, is this a sign of this too?

Jayon Morrow (JR., Kankakee) will surprise no one this season. He has been training up to this point in order to get a second-team title. Morrow has range from 60m to 400m, a true threat anytime he touches the oval. Don't be surprised if Morrow puts on an indoor show.

Honorable Mention: Joe Valeski (SR., Elmhurst York), Olusoga Adeyiga (JR. Homewood-Flossmoor), Clayton Lakatos ( SO., Edwardsville), Robert Scott III (SR., Homewood-Flossmoor), Edward Clark III (SR., Crete-Monee), Jailen Duffie (Sr., Gurnee Warren), Cael Hiser (SR., Minooka), Dominik Balenda (SR., Prospect), Amare Harris (SR., Bloomington), Christopher Bergin (SR., Chicago Lincoln Park), Kenneth Buchanon (JR., East St. Louis Sr)