Pre-Season Boys Indoor Preview: One 60HH Barrier At A Time

It was a very close scene at the 2022 Illinois Top Times 60HH finals but won by Alec Sledge of Mt. Vernon



This event overall isn't strong compared to previous seasons. Athletes in technical events such as hurdles typically get it going during the latter part of the indoor season as training options are limited given indoor space and cold weather concerns.

Daryl Okeke (SR., Champaign Judah Christian), was all-state by finishing third in 1A Illinois State Championships. His indoor season was quiet last season, but the tide has turned so far this season. He has hurdled his way to an early-season state lead in this event. Look for him to surprise many more this indoor season as he challenges the sub-eight-second barrier. 

Julius Baker (SO., Bolingbrook) The former Texas resident brings his talent to the Land of Lincoln and will look to bring some heat. His preseason performance at the Morolake Akinosun Invite shows he is off to a good start. 

Demarlynn Taylor (SR., East St. Louis) comes from a line of hurdlers for the Flyers. The state's top returner will look to surpass some expectations while also taking his shot at a sub-8-second performance. East St. Louis will run an enhanced schedule to give him the best possible challenges.

Nathan Kirby (SR., Salt Fork) is an improved hurdler last season, his indoor season springboarded him to an all-state spot in 1A last Spring. His season likely will begin in March when he will attempt to get the rust off. 

Jackson Kern (SR., Auburn) is last season's state runner-up in 1A last season for the short hurdles which goes with the state title he secured in the long hurdles. His season likely will begin in March when he will fine-tune his technique. 

Jaden Bossie ( SR., Chicago Mt Carmel) is coming off a football state title, his focus shifts from hurdling defenders back to the barriers. All-State last year, he will look to fine-tune his skills in his final indoor season. 

Honorable Mention Keshawn Lyons (SR., Cahokia). Michael Vanhootegem (SR., Chicago Heights Marian), Grant Tode (Sr., Chatham-Glenwood), Jayden Mangruem (SR., Normal West), Ajani Rush (SR., Hillcrest), Elijah Easley (SR., Chicago Kenwood), Clayton Lakatos (SO., Edwardsville)