Power Play Year End Awards

Girls Coach of The Year

1st Dan Iverson (Naperville North) (6 first place votes)

Coach Iverson has put his name into the hat of being the best Illinois girls' coach of all-time with the great teams he has produced over the years and he did it once again. Last year Naperville North's team was ridiculous.

The Huskies took second in the nation at NXN and graduated a few of their top runners. Going into this season, it appeared it would be a lot harder for the Huskies than before with Yorkville ready to compete. But Iverson filled the gaps and produced arguably a better team this year. They were dominant all year, including senior Alex Morris who really found her stride late in the season. They were helped by the huge improvement of Maggie Gamboa and the additions of Campbell Petersen and Lucy Westlake. They only lost to one team all year: Yorkville at Roy Griak, otherwise they were lights out. Iverson, with how he fosters his team to astounding successes year after year, continuously proves why he is one of the greatest to ever coach in Illinois.

Congrats to Coach Dan Iverson as he is the 2018 Milesplit IL Girls Coach of The Year!

Other Nominees: 2nd Olivia Morris (Eureka) (2 first place votes), 3rd Daniel Plunkett (Downers Grove South)