Chris Friedman Named USTFCCCA Girls Cross Country Coach Of The Year

Dunlap Girls Head Cross Country coach Chris Friedman (bottom, second) guilded his Eagles their first state championship in November. Dunlap completed an undefeated IHSA season that culminated with the 2A team title. 


Official press release-

NEW ORLEANS - The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced Thursday the state-by-state winners of its fourth annual High School Coach of the Year award for cross country.

One boys coach and one girls coach from each of the 50 states and the District of Columbia - as seen in the lists below - were honored for their successes during the fall of 2017, as selected by a committee of experts from around the nation.

State-by-state winners were selected based on their teams' performances throughout the 2017 cross country season. Among the factors taken into consideration were team score and placement at the state championships, margin of victory, performance against rankings if available, individual championships, and how their teams' performances stacked up to previous years (e.g. first title in school history, consecutive titles, etc.).

Each honoree will receive a trophy from the USTFCCCA recognizing his or her achievements.

The winners from each state are in consideration for the association's National High School Cross Country Coach of the Year award. One boys coach and one girls coach from among all the states will be selected by a panel of experts and be announced later this month as the national winners.

The full lists can be seen below.


StateCoach NameInstitution
AlabamaLuke RobinsonScottsboro High School
AlaskaRuth BarndtWest High School
ArizonaMissy AckerNorthland Preparatory Academy
ArkansasKarl KoonceLake Hamilton High School
CaliforniaDoug SolesGreat Oak High School
ColoradoMark RobertsLyons Senior High School
ConnecticutChris StonierXavier High School
DelawareMichael LoSapioSalesianum School
District of ColumbiaJohn AusemaGonzaga College High School
FloridaMike RiveraThe Bolles School
GeorgiaAndy CarrMilton High School
HawaiiShane Hedani'Iolani School
IdahoJeff HowardRocky Mountain High School
IllinoisJohn SippleDowners Grove North High School
IndianaColin AltevogtCarmel High School
IowaErik BelbyPleasant Valley High School
KansasGary WartickCircle High School
KentuckyChuck MedleySaint Xavier High School
LouisianaClaney DuplechinEpiscopal School of Baton Rouge
MaineGarrett MartinLincoln Academy
MarylandJosh AlcombrightSeverna Park High School
MassachusettsMark MurraySt. John's High School
MichiganDon SleemanPioneer High School
MinnesotaMark PoppWayzata High School
MississippiKevin BowerBrookhaven High School
MissouriFrank GallickBlue Springs High School
MontanaCasey JermynBozeman High School
NebraskaStephanie FuehrerHoldrege High School
NevadaRhonda BeadellSpanish Springs High School 
New HampshireTristan Black-IngersollConcord High School
New JerseySean McCaffertyChristian Brothers Academy
New MexicoKenny HenryV. Sue Cleveland High School
New YorkRay LawsonCorning-Painted Post High School
North CarolinaMichael MiragliuoloGreen Hope High School
North DakotaBrian AndersonNew Town High School
OhioLee SternbergEast Canton High School
OklahomaFrezer LegesseMount St. Mary Catholic High School
OregonJustin LoftusCrater High School
PennsylvaniaGreg BieleckiLa Salle College High School
Rhode IslandJim DoyleBishop Hendricken High School
South CarolinaJeff BuysDorman High School
South DakotaKendra BenedettoWest Central High School
TennesseePhil YoungSiegel High School
TexasGreg ChristensenLovejoy High School
UtahRandy QuarezStansbury High School
VermontEric LangevinEssex High School
VirginiaMarc HunterLoudoun Valley High School
WashingtonMichael LeeLewis and Clark High School
West VirginiaMike RyanMorgantown High School
WisconsinBrian FinnelMiddleton High School
Wyoming Ty DraneyStar Valley High School